What Is the Texas Controlled Substance Act?
In Texas, there is no room for drug-related infractions—no matter how small they may seem. The Texas Controlled Substances Act of 1973 makes it a criminal offense to possess, produce, or distribute any type of Texas-controlled substances. As delineated in the act itself, these drugs are divided into Schedules according to their potential abuse degree:
substances with a high potential for abuse that have no currently accepted medical use
substances with high potential for abuse that can lead to severe physical or psychological dependence, but have accepted medical uses with certain restrictions
substances with lower potential for abuse but can still lead to low, moderate, or high physical dependence
substances with lower potential for abuse that can lead to low physical or psychological dependence
substances with low potential for abuse that can lead to limited physical or psychological dependence
The potential severity of Penalizing Group 1 offenses:
These include those involving opioids and related substances, which can yield dire consequences. Such acts may be subject to 180 days to two years in prison and a fine up to $10,000 – with this group being the maximum of the Texas penalty groups, extending up to life imprisonment as well as an astronomical fee of $300,000.
In Texas, the consequences for possessing drugs depend on the penalty group and amount. Legislators have identified eight drug groups (PG1, PG1-A, PG-2, PG-2A, PG-3, PG-4 Dangerous Drugs, and Marijuana) which are categorized according to their addictive properties as well as if they serve a legitimate medical purpose or not.
What to do if Caught with a Controlled Substance?
If you are finding this article helpful, you may find it in its entirety at rrklawoffice.com